ny 12 3

The Democratic primary in New York's 12th Congressional District is a race between incumbent Rep. Carolyn Maloney and three challengers: Suraj Patel, Peter Harrison, and Lauren Ashcraft.

ny c 4

Congresswoman Maloney's three challengers met to discuss a variety of issues and strategies in a debate.

Hosted by Empire State Indivisible and moderated by Gotham Gazette's Ben Max. MNN will broadcast the debate on Tuesday 6/16 at 6pm on MNN1 (Spectrum 34 & 1995, RCN 82, FiOS 33) or MNNHD (Spectrum 1993).


All Democratic voters who live in the 12th CD, which includes parts of Manhattan, Queens, and Brooklyn are eligible to vote in this month's primary: early voting is June 13-21, primary day is June 23, and all are eligible to vote absentee by gubernatorial order due to the coronavirus.  

Early voting sites are open to registered voters from June 13 to June 21.

Early Voting Has Begun. NYC voters are assigned by residence to One Early Voting Site. Voters may ONLY vote early at their assigned site. 

Sites across the five boroughs and runs through Sunday June 21st. You can also vote in person on June 23rd at your polling site.    

Click Here or call 1-866-Vote-NYC (1-866-868-3692) to get your early voting location. There are 2 Upper West Side early voting locations. Both sites are open on the same days/times.

Most officials are urging voters to take advantage of a new provision that makes it easier to access absentee ballots for anyone who is sick from, or fears contracting, COVID-19.


Read: Make Sure Your Vote Count

Your early voting site may be different than your designated site on the day of the election, and early voting hours may vary. (NYC locations here). 

Voters must wear a mask or face covering and stay six feet away from others when entering any Board of Elections facility, according to the agency's website. 

For those who don't want to head to the polls in person, all New York voters may request a mail-in ballot due to the coronavirus pandemic. Voters have until June 16th to request an absentee ballot.

Ballots must be postmarked by the date of the election for the vote to get counted.